BanGOR?

So…..it is Bangor!!!! Right now I am in Bangor Maine

 

And what my friend says a lot and some Bangorians, or Mainers, Americans etc. they love the historical side of Europe. So I come to Bangor Maine, knowing that likely there are not much stories or historical events..regarding for example the thing that fascinates me…indians/native Americans….. Nobody tells me stories about the scary or fascinating legends of Bangggggorrrrr!! For years in my life I did not even know the existence of Bangor. So I would love to know that side since I have been here before.

I love to play a game now and then and I was playing Assasins Creed 3 that sets in the 18th century, before, during and after the American Revolution from 1753 to 1783. And you can roam around 18th-century Boston, New York and the American frontier. So I played as an Indian and thinking  hmm…I must be walking around near Maine somewhere. Since lots of the game its story line is based on historical fact might there be an exciting legend here?

 

See I dont want to romanticize the history and bloodshed but everybody has something with the Japanese Ninja’s which also has dark sides. The settings of where the World War 2 played out, because of all the movies around it. The cowboys and Indians. I never forget, it is horrible what is done. That just did not stop me from looking for a legend……..

Bangor has a population of 33,039 which is located in the state of Maine that holds a population of 1,330,089 I just counted them myself. It was quite a job, Maine is located in New England region of the Northern United States. The red area on the map below.

The only crazy story so far was the famous Brady gang that left some bullet holes in a building in downtown Bangor according to a Bangor inhabitant.

In fall 1937, Central Street was the scene of the bloodiest shoot-out in Maine history, complete with big-time gangsters and federal agents.  Read more…

The spectacular public gun-battle that led to the demise of “The Brady Gang” is an essential part of Maine folklore, and was even the subject of a re-enactment in 2007.

Bangor resides in the county of Penobscot a county in America are administrative divisions of the state in which their boundaries are drawn. So Penobscot, that sounds either Scandinavian or Indian hmm so I look into this:

The Penobscot (Panawahpskek) are a Northeastern Native American tribe in Maine and First Nations band in the Maritime Provinces of Canada. The Penobscot Nation, formerly known as the Penobscot Tribe of Maine, is the federally recognized tribe of Penobscot people.[3] They are part of the Wabanaki Confederacy, along with the Abenaki, Passamaquoddy, Maliseet, and Mi’kmaq nations. Their main settlement is now Penobscot Indian Island Reservation.

 

Oooo!!!! Native Americans hmmm!!!?!!

The word “Penobscot” originates from a mispronunciation of their name “Penawapskewi”. The word means “rocky part” or “descending ledges” and originally referred to the portion of the Penobscot River between Old Town and Bangor.

OoooO!!! Mispronunciations!!!!!!

Little is known about the Penobscot people pre-contact. Native peoples are thought to have inhabited Maine and surrounding areas for at least 11,000 years. They subsisted on beavers, otters, moose, bears, caribou, fish, seafood (clams, mussels, fish), birds, bird eggs, berries, nuts, and possibly marine mammals like seals, all which were found throughout their native lands. Furthermore, agriculture was practiced but not to the same extent as that of indigenous peoples in southern New England.  Food was potentially scarce only toward the end of the winter, in March and February. However, for the rest of the year, Penobscots as well as other Wabanakis probably had little difficulty feeding themselves because the land offered much, and the number of people taking from the land was too small to deplete the land’s resources.[7] Furthermore, they moved seasonally depending on where the most bountiful food would be.

To be continued….I am not done…I will drive and find….I will find more….for this blog…..I will…..and if not…I will find something better..yes…..because likely I will be on some other continent ! But that wont stop me!!!! Penobscot! Reveal me your secrets!!!

 

About Elly

Elly from the Netherlands born and raised. Exploring and interacting is in the blood. Patience and curiousity are in the heart. And my keyboard is in my hand.
This entry was posted in Culture, Games, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

