Travels

Travels

The journey started in Amsterdam, meeting up with my close friend in Detroit to move almost directly on to the next flight that would lead us to Japan – Tokyo airport Narita.

Amsterdam airport

Amsterdam airport

My friend and I were seated far apart, so finally when I exited the plane she said: Welcome to Japan. Strange to be in Japan but it was just a transit so I dont really feel that I was in Japan and officially I have not been to Japan on paper. But seeing the airport and the Japanese signs and the people was the first taste of Asia. Which was for me very awesome. Japanese people are apparently and of course that is known, fashionable I love the clothes. Not everything would be my style but it suits them.

We had to wait for a couple of hours and we browsed around the little stores and at the Mc Donalds (Its everywhere I tell you! You cant run ! You cant hide ! The big mac is coming for you!) a American came back and said are you sure this is large? The cups are way smaller compared to America and I forgot, in Hawai I could not carry my Dr Pepper large anymore and this is the result maybe it was on CNN a Dr Pepper flood:

IMG_2109

Dr Pepper everywhere

And that picture is just a little bit of the damage but for trauma protection I would not post the rest 😉 ( Or I just make sucky pictures and I dont want to post it) the whole floor was a ocean of Dr Pepper. I think I washed away a few Hawaians I apologize trough this blog.
I like American cups/buckets way better! So stingy in Europe and apparently in Asia to!

.
.

So finally it was time to go into the plane onto Singapore and we landed at night. It was so hot, the first time I experience Asian heat. And it was night! I was so curious thinking what would happen to me the next day, will I melt into a puddle? I did not! It started to rain and we went into a shopping mall. Singapore is like New York but way cleaner and of course hotter. I prefer heat even though it takes a while to get used to it, in the time I was there I could not really adapt jet but I felt that it went better everyday. But change of clothes and lots of showers is neccesary. Because I flew many hours from Amsterdam to Detroit and on to Japan flapping our metal wings to Singapore there was much needed sleep going on.

Singapore

Singapore

Singapore was to short but from my experience I can say its expensive and its shopping heaven. And I like the vibe of the people so far doing their things and being on their way. And its nice and clean and there is diversity which is always a good thing!

Padang

Monkey in Padang

Monkey in Padang

Padang.10

Padang in west Sumatra

Padang is so different from Singapore, it is in west Sumatra Indonesia.  I noticed the flow of traffic and I have to say I like the pace of the traffic immediatly when we were in the taxi. Thinking that if I drove myself I would have probably be a little scared. Especially since in Indonesia they drive on the other side of the road. Again I arrived in a mystery of the darkness that is called night. So I did not see much, you know how curious that makes a person? Being in a country first time at night ? But then again I was tired.

We arrived at very nice and good people I stayed with my friends family, and they were very welcoming. I drank a hot tea and it was very good Indonesian tea or teh is what they say. We went sleeping very soon because we were so tired of our travels. I slept and the prayer of the mosque woke me up very early, I listened to it with fascinating ears and went sleeping again. After that it never woke me up again. During the day it gave me a good feeling when the prayer starts of where I was and when I got used to it its actually a relaxing routine somehow at times. I cant understand it and I cant explain why but it was.

In Padang not many white people come, they are there of course but because its not very touristic not so much as would be in other places like for example Bali. So being very tall and white I stood out. People wanted to see me or talk to me they were curious, it is very nice because people take the time to get to know you a little and that is for me good because I like to get to know people a little bit to and their stories young and old. I speak a little bit of Indonesian and I got around okay with speaking to people. One day my friends father had a bicycle in a room. I commented on it and he said do you want to bicycle and I said well..if it works…YES!!!! And he got it out and it is a good bike the tires were strong and it was good to go! I was bicycling in Indonesia!!! The big white Orang Belanda on the bicycle. Orang Belanda is Dutch, and for example Orang Amerika is American. Orang Belanda/Dutch have a history with Indonesians because of the colonisation. For example about thousands of words are Dutch words. Like handuk (handdoek) is towel in Dutch and Indonesian its written a little different but its the same. I will write a blog about it in the future.

Me trying to swim in Padang

Me trying to swim in Padang

So anyway I went bicycling around the neighbourhood (And I keep forgetting that I should be on the other side of the street) and a woman called out for me in English she wants to know where I am from and offers me food to try and says ill show you my house. Her name is Yanti she went on the back of the bicycle and in that heat and thinking why the heck not, I pushed the pedals and went for it. I was a waterfall by then of sweat but it did not matter. I loved bicycling it made me feel mobile and in the Netherlands everybody bicycles (even the rich man with the Porsche, everybody bicycles….) I tried some food and I went back to take a shower…many showers. I broke my record of daily showers.

Trying some food!

Trying some food!

I loved so much food over there and so much I liked and found interesting I will blog about it more and I hope you enjoy 🙂 But I can say I really like the peoples approach to strangers so far.

About Elly

Elly from the Netherlands born and raised. Exploring and interacting is in the blood. Patience and curiousity are in the heart. And my keyboard is in my hand.
This entry was posted in Culture, Pictures, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

